If it is actually possible to be “cool by association,” then today, I am the coolest person in the world.

that’s right…as in Lopez.

It is not very often that I get nerdy over another person. I don’t really get all excited around celebrities, musicians are cool, but they don’t really turn me into a frother (with Jimmy Buffett I came close, but I managed to hold myself together), however, for some reason, every time I have the opportunity to hang out with Gerry Lopez, I turn into a huge geek. It is like I can’t control myself. Maybe it’s because he is Mr. Pipeline, or maybe it is because he is just such a nice guy, I turn into the world’s biggest nerd when he is around.

Duane De Soto, Gerry Lopez, Jeff Chang

This morning, I received a call about doing a Hawaii Kai run with Gerry Lopez and the Rainbow Sandals crew. After the initial shock of being invited on such a trip wore off, I threw my stuff in the car and headed out to Hawaii Kai to meet them. I ended up being a little late (which should come as no surprise to those of you who know me well), so I had to paddle to where everyone was from a different location. I pulled into where I was going to paddle from and met up with Duane De Soto. Now, at this point, the cool factor of my day was sitting pretty at about a 20 on a scale of 1 to 10, but having Duane De Soto go too pushed it up to about a 30. The two of us paddled into the Hawaii Kai Marina to meet with the rest of the guys.

That’s Gerry on the left and Duane on the right…I don’t even care that I’m distorted by the water spot.

In the marina we met up with Pat Huber from Rainbow Sandals (for those of you keeping score, we are now around 45), Jeff Chang (67…), Herbie Titcomb (100…), and Herbie’s cousin George. Once everyone was in one place, we headed out to do the Hawaii Kai run. Not just because of the company, this particular run was one of the best ones that I have ever done. The wind was strong, there were lots of fun bumps, and it was just one of those days which really remind me that I love to standup paddle. Downwind runs can be so much fun, and if you haven’t tried one, maybe you should. Perhaps a good opportunity will be the distance race during the June Rainbow Sandals Battle of the Paddle in Hawaii. Just a suggestion.

Pat Huber. In case you didn’t notice, that’s Gerry Lopez in the background. I have a problem.
Herbie Titcomb, the Legend.
Leave a Reply

